Lasallian Education Commission

The Lasallian Education Commission (LEC) is a network of academics composed of the key learning leaders of the 16 La Salle schools in the country. Overseen by De La Salle Philippines’ Lasallian Mission Sevices office (DLSP-LMS), it is made up of three sub-networks – the Basic Education Commission (BEC), the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC), and the Alternative Education Commission (AEC).

Our basic education programs’ school heads or Principals comprise the BEC. The TEC, on the other hand, is made up of our university Chancellors or Vice Chancellors for Academics (VCAs). Then there is the youngest unit in De La Salle Philippines’, the AEC, or the Alternative Education Commission. It was set up in August of 2014 to promote the provision of education services through DepEd’s Alternative Learning Systems (ALS), or similar non-formal approaches.

These networks meet at least once a year and are Chaired by Lasallian partners elected by their peers/appointed by DLSP. The BEC Chair now is Sir Ramelle Javier of LSGH; the TEC is chaired by Dr. Mike Rapatan of DLSU; and, AEC is headed by Br. Vincent Fernandez, FSC.

The LEC strives to make relevant and quality Lasallian Education accessible, even to the poorest among our people. It is informed by a continuing concern to address the basic questions that all educational managers and learning leaders face: Who will we teach? What? How and with what effects? In other words, the LEC’s key programmatic concerns can be summed up in three words: Access, Content, and Quality and/or Relevance.

To address these programmatic themes in the last few years, LEC has basically organized or has been attempting to conduct activities on the following:

  1. FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AND EMPOWERMENT: Continuing education of our Lasallian faculty and learning leaders and the formation of Professional Learning Communities (focus: outcomes-based education (OBE) and E-learning);

  2. CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT: Designing “Lasallian educational programs” — from curriculum integration, revision, to alignment;

  3. ASSESSMENT: Assessment of academic programs and student performance, which includes the holding of academic and sports fairs and the conduct of standards-based tests (i.e., CGEAT);

  4. PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT: Pump-priming the setting-up of K12 program in Lasallian schools and promoting service learning; and,

  5. NON-FORMAL/ALTERNATIVE PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT: Training of ALS facilitators/implementers, with emphasis on serving youth-at-risk and indigenous peoples.


Latest News